Royal Tyrrell Museum, Alberta

One of my most vivid memories from when I was a child is the fact the my brother went crazy for dinosaurs!! Any dinosaurs…. All dinosaurs!! In preschool he already knew tons of the scientific names, he knew their sizes and what they ate… it was crazy!! He had this amazing dinosaur puzzle that he got for a present and a handful of dinosaur toys… Personally I don’t recall being into them quite as much, but something had to rub off on me, because I get excited when there is a museum with a display of dinosaur stuff…

wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-14

The Royal Tyrrell Museum in Drumheller, Alberta is a gem!! One of those super rare gems that is priceless!! Seriously, it has ruined me for museums that try to put on a dinosaur display (I honestly think that this museum is the main reason why I was NOT impressed with the American Museum of Natural History in New York…)!! Although it might not look like anything special from the outside, do not judge this book by its cover!!

wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-35wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-32wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-29

When I think museum (especially one as renowned as the Museum of Natural History), I think fantastic displays paired with information that is presented in a way that makes it exciting. That makes you go ‘oeeeeee’ and ‘aaaaah’!!! The dinosaur display (specifically) at the Museum of Natural History I found extremely disappointing!! What I am trying to say is, if you are a dinosaur fan…. (You seriously don’t even have to be, because even the hubster thought that the Royal Tyrrell Museum was fantastic!), then you can’t miss this Museum!!

wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-31wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-30wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-28wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-27wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-26wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-25wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-24wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-23wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-22wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-21wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-20wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-19wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-18wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-17wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-15

I get giddy just thinking back on this day!! (And I seriously can’t wait to take my brother there…. even though his dinosaur phase has long since passed, I just know he’ll be super appreciative of this great museum and fantastic displays!! ) When you are done, you can meander around on the outside of the Museum and enjoy the very interesting landscapes of the Drumheller area!! We sure had a memorable time experiencing this area for the first time and showing my mom around!!

wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-39wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-38wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-36wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-34wildcubsofthemountain-kanada2015-33

Get in touch!! I would love to hear your thoughts!

