Kudu – Stained Creation

For the guest bedroom I wanted to create something simple to put on the wall… I found this image on Pinterest which I used as a base for my idea (click on image for the source)….

White Tail Deer Head Silhouette on Hardwood Plaque.

Stef said that he wanted me to do the silhouette of a Kudu (a woodland antelope found in eastern and southern Africa…)(….and a favourite for hunting!)

So I searched online for a silhouette of a kudu…

I found this (click on image for source)(found on google images):

il_340x270.621278335_k8o7

And so I set off…

The method is pretty simple and clear from the sequence of images I posted… I used the same white-washed planks for my backdrop… and I used a normal wood stain for my shades… I printed off the image the size that I wanted and started drawing the outline and staining from there. If you have any questions, please feel free to leave a comment!

Xandre Verkes - Stained Kudu Art-1 Xandre Verkes - Stained Kudu Art-2 Xandre Verkes - Stained Kudu Art-3 Xandre Verkes - Stained Kudu Art-4 Xandre Verkes - Stained Kudu Art-5 Xandre Verkes - Stained Kudu Art-6 Xandre Verkes - Stained Kudu Art-7 Xandre Verkes - Stained Kudu Art-8

I just love how the stain blended and created a clear picture!! Super proud of this piece!! We hung it a bit higher on the wall so that it feels as if the Kudu is looking straight at you!! Not quite finished with that corner of the room, but it is getting there!! What do you think??

Xandre Verkes - Stained Kudu Art-9 Xandre Verkes - Stained Kudu Art-11 Xandre Verkes - Stained Kudu Art-10

I really love the texture and raw feel of the wood!! And with the earthy stain… I am really glad that I didn’t just go and paint a black silhouette!!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. zelmare says:

    Beautiful! You’re turning into quite the artist! πŸ™‚ x

    Like

    1. Thank you my lovely Mommy!! ❀ **

      Like

  2. Wow, that’s awesome! I wish I was creative like you :).

    Like

    1. Thanks Cindy!! Haha… Im not always creative… it comes in bouts!! The engineering has limited my creativity so bad I now struggle with doodles!! Ugh! But at least I can do math!! Haha!

      Like

      1. I understand because I took 2 years of engineering at university. I didn’t finish, but I definitely have the math mind rather than the artistic one :).

        Like

        1. Thats awesome!! I definitely want both…. In competition with myself!! (The best kind!! – Monica much?? hahaha!) Math and art!! Im trying!! And then you completely understand the frustration!! πŸ™‚

          Like

Get in touch!! I would love to hear your thoughts!

